Katsu-Hama, My Go To for Tonkatsu

Tonkatsu is a Japanese fried pork cutlet and is a main staple in my cooking repetoire but sometimes stuff just tastes better when somebody else makes it.  Katsu-Hama is where I go to fill that craving and get a full tonkatsu experience.  A katsu meal at Katsu-Hama comes with miso soup, a selection of pickled vegetables, rice, and an endless pile of shredded cabbage.  Now I know a pile of shredded cabbage probably doesn’t sound all that great but the dressing they have makes it perfect.  I believe the cabbage helps combat that heavy oily sickness that happens after eating fried food and it really does make you feel like you are not eating too badly.  I have looked all over for a recipe for their dressing so I can pretend to be healthy at home too and eat a pound of cabbage and actually enjoy it but I’m not having any luck.  If anyone knows what type of dressing this is please drop me a line.  They do offer other things besides pork but I recommend the basics.  I ordered the ebi (shrimp) katsu once and ended up switching with another member of my party.  There are two locations in Manhattan, one is midtown east and the other west.  I prefer the midtown west location but the photos in this post were taken at the midtown east location.

Hire Katsu Don

Tonkatsu lunch special- only $11!

mmmm suace

Katsu-Hama

11 E 47th St
New York, NY 10017
(212) 758-5909
and
45 W 55th St
New York, NY 10019
(212) 541-7145
Categories: Food | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

