Outfit Post #9

Hat: Diana Exclusive
Dress: Stop Staring
Shoes: Jessica Simpson

This outfit is all about the hat!  It’s a vintage piece I picked up years ago at an antique store and I’m amazed that not a single feather has fallen out.  It did use to have a chin strap but that broke the first time I tried to wear it.  I just secure it with bobby pins now.  I don’t really like admitting to the brand of my shoes but even though I don’t like Jessica Simpson as a celebrity, she does have a decent line of shoes.  I got these on sale for $19 and they are one of my more comfortable pairs of heels.  Sometimes there are good products that I will turn my nose up at just because it’s associated with images I don’t like or I feel would misrepresent me if people knew I used it.  I am slowly growing though.  My biggest example is my perfume.  I used to exclusively wear Chanel no.5 because it has been around since the 1920’s and I liked the famous Marylin Monroe quote.  It smelled decent on me but it didn’t seem to last.  One of the times I was buying a bottle of Chanel I received a sample of Juicy Couture and it smelled fabulous on me.  It had great staying power and I couldn’t help but continuously sniff my wrist because it smelled so good.  I didn’t start wearing it till years later though because I couldn’t get over the fact that Juicy Couture just was not “me”.  I’ve converted now but I still miss the Chanel no.5 stigma whenever somebody asks me what type of perfume I wear.

Categories: Fashion | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Outfit Post #9

  1. Jean

    The reason you broke the elastic is because it doesn’t go under your chin. Vintage hats came equipped with an elastic that went behind your ears and hidden under your hair.

  2. absinthewilde

    Thanks for the info. Does that actually hold well? I will try it next chance I get.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.