Blueberry Fields Forever

Today was a no makeup kind of day

I can’t say that I look forward to summer but it does have it’s perks.  I love going to farms that allows you to pick your own produce.  It’s often much cheaper and it tastes so much better when it’s this fresh and you know where your food came from.  The seasons are so off kilter right now and all of the fruits are starting up much earlier than normal so I missed out on a couple things already but today I was able to kick things off with blueberry season.

Big, juicy blueberries

The pickings were great today, I didn’t have to search too hard.  I could be picky and look for the biggest and darkest and have no problem filling up my bag.  I cannot fathom buying a pint of blueberries at the grocery store for $4 and up when I am able to buy a pound of them for around $2.50  if I gather them myself.  Now that I’m home looking at my bag I kind of regret not getting more.  This will be enough for me to eat on their own but I won’t really be able to bake anything with them.  Any suggestions on good recipes that use a small amount of blueberries?

My haul

Blueberry flowers

I didn’t notice the little guy poking out of the flower when I took this.

Chilling

The farm also has a market with pre-picked produce but I like the selection of old-fashion goodies.  I try not to drink soda but I love sodas that are made with cane sugar rather than high fructose corn syrup so I decided to treat myself to a sarsaparilla and sit by the lake before driving back to the city.

 

 

 

Categories: Food, Other | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.